Polaris 2014 long list revealed

The Polaris Music Prize has revealed the 40 artists voted onto its long list, including PUP (called it), Chad VanGaalen (KBT interview with Chad from last month here), master of the ambient Tim Hecker, Viceroy-loving Mac DeMarco, Toronto synth-loving DIANA, East Coast indie duo Cousins and a hell of a lot of other Canadian talent. Two projects from former Wolf Parade members also listed: Moonface and Frog Eyes. Basia Bulat, whose name has seemed to be in every #Polaris2014 tweet for months, performed at the announcement ceremony in Calgary, as part of the city's Sled Island music festival. She made the short list for 2008's Oh My Darling.

Toronto's Odonis Odonis made the list too. Look here for an interview with those guys ahead of their Montreal show on June 27.

It's a pretty great list. The only way it can make me angry is if Arcade Fire wins again. Or maybe Drake.  The short list, narrowing the contenders down to 10, will be announced on July 15.

Here's the full list:

Arcade Fire - Reflektor
AroarA - In the Pines
Austra - Olympia
Philippe B - Ornithologie, la nuit
Basia Bulat - Tall Tall Shadow
Chromeo - White Women
Cousins - The Halls of Wickwire
Cowboy Junkies / Various - The Kennedy Suite
The Darcys - Warring
Dead Obies - Montréal $ud
Mac DeMarco - Salad Days
DIANA - Perpetual Surrender
Drake - Nothing Was the Same
Freedom Writers - NOW
Fresh Snow - I
Frog Eyes - Carey's Cold Spring
Gorguts - Colored Sands
Tim Hecker - Virgins
Jimmy Hunt - Maladie d'amour
Jessy Lanza - Pull My Hair Back
Kalle Mattson - Someday, the Moon Will Be Gold
Moonface - Julia with Blue Jeans On
Mounties - Thrash Rock Legacy
Odonis Odonis - Hard Boiled Soft Boiled
Owen Pallett - In Conflict
Pink Mountaintops - Get Back
The Sadies - Internal Sounds
Shad - Flying Colours
Shooting Guns - Brotherhood of the Ram
Solids - Blame Confusion
Rae Spoon - My Prairie Home
The Strumbellas - We Still Move on Dance Floors
Tanya Tagaq - Animism
Thus Owls - Turning Rocks
Timber Timbre - Hot Dreams
Chad VanGaalen - Shrink Dust
Bry Webb - Free Will
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan - UZU